Before separation of Bihar from the state of Bengal,the Department of Vigilance was  functioning as a wing of Political (General) Department and its assignment was to eradicate corruption in public life. In 1946, it was renamed as Vigilance Department. In due course of time, it was rechristened as a wing of Cabinet Secretariat & Vigilance Department (Vigilance), under the Cabinet Co-ordination Department. Presently, Vigilance Dept. has been working as an independent Department and Anti Corruption Bureau is an as most important wing of Cabinet Secretariat & Vigilance Department (Vigilance) of the Jharkhand Govt.

          After Creation of Jharkhand state the same organizational structure was adopted as was in Bihar. The Office of Anti Corruption Bureau is located at Audrey House, Kanke Road, Ranchi. The basic objective of this Bureau is to purge the administrative set up and to contain the prevailing corruption and malpractice rampant in Government Organization. 

          It has a broad spectrum of deriving effective modalities to keep watch over the corrupt practices of Government servants. Apart from legal measures, the Bureau is making effort to sensitize people for raising voice against corruption. The Bureau has realized that without the cooperation of the society, legal measures, alone are not enough to fight corruption. The Bureau is seriously concerned about speedy disposal of criminal cases, enquiries of complaints, so that, the people may feel that Vigilance functions as eyes and ears of the Government and it shall not allow misuse of Govt. fund meant for manifold development and welfare of the poor people. Now known as Anti Corruption Bureau (ACB).

          Hon'ble Chief Minister Sri Hemant Soren holds charge of the Cabinet Secretariat & Vigilance Department as Minister of this department Under whom, Mrs.  Vandana Dadel, IAS  is the Vigilance Commissioner of the department. Shri Ajay Kumar Singh, IPS, DIRECTOR GENERAL is the Chief of Anti Corruption Bureau, Jharkhand.